FAQ Overview

About AffiliatesDirectory.com

Does Affiliatesdirectory offer it's own affiliate program.

No. We do not offer our own affiliate program.

We are a directory that lists thousands of affiliate programs that you can join. Inquiries in respect of any of those programs need to be made direct with the affiliate program.

Author: Clint
Last update: 2017-03-26 09:02

How do you add an affiliate program to our directory?

You should first become a member as only members can add programs.

Unlike some other directories there is no cost to have your program listed.

You should first conduct a search of our system to see whether your program already exists in our directory.

Then review our submission guidelines to ensure you meet our acceptance criteria.

Use our submission form to add your program.

Author: Clint
Last update: 2017-03-27 03:06

Does AffiliatesDirectory offer advertising?

We currently offer the Priority Listing Program which, for a small cost, ensures your program listing is placed at the top of each page in the category. There are other benefits as well that will increat your exposure. More details here.

As we are currently doing a site upgrade we are exploring additional advertising opportunities that we hope to be able to offer in the near future.

Author: Clint
Last update: 2017-03-27 04:28

Why can't I modify my newly submitted affiliate program?

You cannot modify your submission until it has been reviewed. Once you receive your confirmation email you will be able to modify your listing by selecting that option from the menu.

Author: Clint
Last update: 2017-06-17 06:33

Affiliate Programs

What are affiliate programs?

Put simply, an affiliate program is an agreement between a merchant (who sells goods and/or services) and an affiliate who acts as an agent for the merchant and promotes the goods offered by the merchant.

In return the affiliate is paid a commission, which is normally a % of the cost of the goods/services. Quite often a flat rate will be paid. There are different commission models in operation including two-tier commissions where affiliates are recruited by other affiliates who then earn a % of that affiliates sales.

Author: Clint
Last update: 2017-03-27 01:33

What are Pay per Sale programs?

Pay per sale (PPS) is an online advertising payment model in which payment is based solely on qualifying sales.

In a pay per sale agreement, the advertiser only pays for sales generated by the destination site based on an agreed upon commission rate.

Paying per sale is often seen as the payment model most favorable to advertisers and least favorable to publishers. In such an agreement, the publisher must not only be concerned with the quality and quantity of his or her audience, but also the quality of the advertiser’s creative units and destination site.

If possible, many publishers avoid sales-based agreements, preferring to stick to the CPM model. However, some publishers, facing weak ad sales, have little choice but to accept sales-based agreements to utilize remnant space.

For advertisers, pay per sale has some unique advantages compared to pay per click and pay per lead. There are fewer concerns about whether conversions are legitimate, and whether traffic is incentivized or of low quality.

(Source: marketingterms.com)

Author: Clint
Last update: 2017-03-27 01:30

What is Cost Per Action (CPA)?

Online advertising payment model in which payment is based solely on qualifying actions such as sales or registrations.

The actions defined in a cost-per-action agreement relate directly to some type of conversion, with sales and registrations among the most common. This does not include deals based solely on clicks, which are referred to specifically as cost-per-click or CPC.

The cost-per-action (CPA) model is at the other end of the spectrum from the cost-per-impressions model (CPM), with the cost-per-click (CPC) model somewhere in the middle. In a CPA model, the publisher is taking most of the advertising risk, as their commissions are dependant on good conversion rates from the advertiser’s creative units and Web site.

Marketers looking for cost-per-action deals have several options. Publishers with considerable excess inventory may be willing to consider nonstandard offers. Sites specializing in incentive programs are in a position to offer CPA pricing on various types of leads, although the usual caveats concerning incentivized traffic still apply. Perhaps the most widespread use of performance-based pricing is affiliate marketing, whereby merchants/advertisers determine what actions they want to reward and how much they are willing to pay.

(Source: marketingterms.com>

Author: Clint
Last update: 2017-03-27 01:29

What are CPM Programs?

Cost per thousand impressions (technically, “cost per mille”).

The CPM model refers to advertising bought on the basis of impression. This is in contrast to the various types of pay-for-performance advertising, whereby payment is only triggered by a mutually agreed upon activity (i.e. click-through, registration, sale).

The total price paid in a CPM deal is calculated by multiplying the CPM rate by the number of CPM units. For example, one million impressions at $10 CPM equals a $10,000 total price.

1,000,000 / 1,000 impressions = 1,000 units
1,000 units X $10 CPM = $10,000 total price

The amount paid per impression is calculated by dividing the CPM by 1000. For example, a $10 CPM equals $.01 per impression.

$10 CPM / 1000 impressions = $.01 per impression

This should not be confused with Pay per Click programs as under this model no 'action' needs to be undertaken.

Author: Clint
Last update: 2017-03-27 01:39

What is Cost per Click (or pay per click)?

The cost or cost-equivalent paid per click-through.

The terms pay-per-click (PPC) and cost-per-click (CPC) are sometimes used interchangeably, sometimes as distinct terms. When used as distinct terms, PPC indicates payment based on click-throughs, while CPC indicates measurement of cost on a per-click basis for contracts not based on click-throughs.

For example, consider a campaign where payment is based on impressions, not clicks. Impressions are sold for $10 CPM with a click-through rate (CTR) of 2%.

1000 impressions x 2% CTR = 20 click-throughs

$10 CPM / 20 click-throughs = $.50 per click

(source: marketingterms.com)

Author: Clint
Last update: 2017-03-27 01:46

What are Pay per Click Programs?

Online advertising payment model in which payment is based solely on qualifying click-throughs.

In a PPC agreement, the advertiser only pays for qualifying clicks to the destination site based on a prearranged per-click rate. Popular PPC advertising options include per-click advertising networks, search engines, and affiliate programs.

Paying per click is sometimes seen by some as a middle ground between paying per impression and paying per action. When paying per impression, the advertiser assumes the risk of low-quality traffic generated by the publisher.

When getting paid for actions, the publisher assumes the risk of low-converting offers by the advertiser. In the PPC model, the publisher does not have to worry about the sales conversion rate of the target site, and the advertiser does not have to worry about how many impressions it takes to attract the specified number of clicks.

(source: marketingterms.com)

Author: Clint
Last update: 2017-03-27 01:52

What are Pay per Lead (PPL) Programs?

Online advertising payment model in which payment is based solely on qualifying leads.

In a pay per lead agreement, the advertiser only pays for leads generated at their destination site. No payment is made for visitors who don’t sign up.

A lead is generally a signup involving contact information and perhaps some demographic information; it is typically a non-cash conversion event. A lead may consist of as little as an email address, or it may involve a detailed form covering multiple pages.

One risk to the advertiser is the potential for fraudulent activity by incentivized 3rd-parties or marketing partners. Some false leads are easy to spot. Nonetheless, it is advisable to make a regular audit of the results.

(source: marketingterms.com)

Author: Clint
Last update: 2017-03-27 01:58

What is Conversion Rate?

The percentage of visitors who take a desired action.

The desired action can take many forms, varying from site to site. Examples include sales of products, membership registrations, newsletter subscriptions, software downloads, or just about any activity beyond simple page browsing.

A high conversion rate depends on several factors, all of which must be satisfactory to yield the desired results — the interest level of the visitor, the attractiveness of the offer, and the ease of the process.

The interest level of the visitor is maximized by matching the right visitor, the right place, and the right time.

The attractiveness of the offer includes the value proposition and how well it is presented. It is worth noting that small, impulse items typically have a higher conversion rate than large, shopping items.

The visitor’s ease of completing the desired action is dependent on site usability which includes intuitive navigation and fast loading pages.

(source: marketingterms.com)

Author: Clint
Last update: 2017-03-27 02:05

What is Click Through Rate?

The average number of click-throughs per hundred ad impressions, expressed as a percentage.

It is important to distinguish what a click-through rate does and does not measure. The CTR measures what percentage of people clicked on the ad to arrive at the destination site; it does not include the people who failed to click, yet arrived at the site later as a result of seeing the ad.

As such, the CTR may be seen as a measure of the immediate response to an ad, but not the overall response to an ad. The exception involves ads that display no identifiable information about the destination site; in these cases the click rate equals the overall rate.

Merely getting visitors to a site had value when Web site traffic was generally accepted as a measure of success. The trend towards profitability, along with better tracking tools, has resulted in less interest in clickthrough rates and more interest in conversion rates.

A high clickthrough rate does not assure a good conversion rate, and the two rates may even share an inverse relationship. An advertisement geared towards curiosity clicks will result in fewer sales, percentage-wise, than an advertisement geared towards qualified clicks.

(source: marketingterms.com)

Author: Clint
Last update: 2017-03-27 02:11

What are Two-Tier Programs?

Affiliates earn commissions for sales generated by affiliates they have recruited. This should not be confused with MLM (multi level marketing) Programs who operate under multiple tiers (similar to pyramid schemes).

Two tier programs are extremely popular as it gives the affiliate opportunities for additional revenue streams. Apart from the direct sales generated by the affiliate, sales made by recruited affiliates (sub-affiliates) also earn commissions.

Author: Clint
Last update: 2017-03-27 02:42

What are Recurring Commissions (Lifelong Programs)

Once an affiliate refers a customer to the merchants site the affiliate continues to earn sales whenever in the future that customer returns to that merchant.

10 years is the normal definition for 'lifelong'.

Most good affiliate programs offer lifelong (recurring) commissions.

Author: Clint
Last update: 2017-03-27 02:48

Where is the best discount coupons available for saving money?

Promo codes are the best option for you.

Author: Wane Smith
Last update: 2017-05-24 11:30

Can I add two affiliate programs on my website. I am an AWAI chiropractic copywriter. Both companies offer different products.

That's what I'm trying to find out.

You can add as many different affiliate programs to your website that complement what you are attempting to sell. Obviously programs that offer the same product need to be carefully considered in their placement. Programs that offer unique items will complement each other and enhance your site.

Author: Ines A Hatch
Last update: 2017-06-21 02:49

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Last update: 2017-09-05 13:56

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